These Are The Things I Look Out For When Buying A Laptop

As An IT Engineer

Dom Kwolczak
6 min readAug 27, 2022

Many of you may not know this, but Tech With Dom is only a part-time side project, I do alongside my full-time Job as an IT engineer.

With that being said, I often get asked questions about what laptop I recommend or whether a specific brand is worth the purchase.

That got me thinking, that instead of answering all these questions individually, I could write up a blog post that a wider audience may find useful and my friends and family may turn to for advice.

As someone who used to work at a computer shop, I know too well that choosing a laptop suitable for your needs can be confusing and even a hassle at times, particularly if you have a lot of choices to pick from.

Laptops come in all shapes and sizes, some have some pretty cool features such as audio by Harman or Bang & Olufsen and some come with some free goodies such as a laptop bag or a mouse. However, I wouldn’t really concentrate on things like that because what’s the point of buying a laptop that sounds better than most if it doesn’t perform the way you want it to?

Just a side note, if you are an advanced user, some of the information in this post may seem basic.

--

--

Dom Kwolczak

I'm Dom, a tech and productivity enthusiast living in the UK. I share stories about my experience with tech, reviews, tips and more. www.beacons.ai/techwithdom