Pixel Watch: Do I Need FitBit Premium?

The Simple Answer is NO! Let Me Explain…

Dom Kwolczak
5 min readJan 14, 2023
Photo by Author

I’ve been using the Google Pixel Watch for a while now and as a Pixel Watch user, one of the most common questions I get asked is whether I need to pay for FitBit premium. I decided to explain in the form of a blog article.

At the time of writing this article, Fitbit Premium is very pricey in my opinion. Here in the UK, it costs £7.99 per month or £79.99 annually. However, the good news is that you get a free 6-month trial with your Pixel Watch and selected Fitbit devices.

But is it really necessary? Let me explain…

What Do You Use Your Pixel Watch For?

First of all, you need to ask yourself the question, did you buy the Pixel Watch to exclusively track your fitness? If your answer is yes, then maybe Fitbit Premium is a suitable option for you, but it doesn’t necessarily have to be.

If you purchased your watch to be more of an allrounder, then unless you want to I wouldn’t necessarily recommend purchasing the premium plan.

In my view, Fitbits and smartwatches such as the Pixel Watch have always been devices aimed at general use and a small amount of fitness, such as tracking your run, cycling trip or gym activities, they never really…

--

--

Dom Kwolczak

I'm Dom, a tech and productivity enthusiast living in the UK. I share stories about my experience with tech, reviews, tips and more. www.beacons.ai/techwithdom