My Wishlist for Windows 12: 3 Things I Hope Change!

Dom Kwolczak
5 min readMar 10, 2023

With Windows 12 rumours circulating the web, I wanted to share the 3 things I want to see improved in the operating system.

I’ve been using Windows 11 since the early insider previews and I actually like it, especially its approach to productivity and the fresh interface.

However, there are areas where I think Microsoft needs to improve the operating system and come to think of it from an IT professional’s point of view, there are only 3 areas I would improve to make the user’s experience even better.

So without any further ado, here are 3 things I think Microsoft should change in Windows 12…

1. Start Menu

I wanted to start talking about the start menu as I feel there is a lot of wasted potential here. I was actually quite a fan of the Windows 10 start menu, you had all of your programs listed on one side and then you had the ability to pin tiles on the other.

I think it would be great if Microsoft went back to this approach, but instead of tiles, they should merge the widget area and add the ability to pin the most used apps.

As a Windows 11 user, I find the current widget area annoying and I never really use it. But if it’s placed in an area I actually use, I will be making more use of it.

--

--

Dom Kwolczak

I'm Dom, a tech and productivity enthusiast living in the UK. I share stories about my experience with tech, reviews, tips and more. www.beacons.ai/techwithdom