Going to University? Why You Should Consider a Windows Laptop!

I Know, MacBooks Are Tempting, But…

Dom Kwolczak
5 min readAug 27, 2023
Photo by Dean Pugh on Unsplash

Okay, You’ve likely read the title and thought to yourself, Blimey what is this guy talking about, but hear me out!

I’m a huge fan of Apple products including MacBooks and I will always recommend them.

However, based on my experience of working in IT in many industries including a university, I believe a Windows laptop may be better suited.

On a side note, everything I talk about in this article depends on the university you attend and the course you are studying, it’s always worth double-checking.

But without any further ado, here are the reasons you should get a Windows laptop for university…

Your university may provide better support for Windows

This is something I noticed while studying at both of the universities I studied in, but it may have been down to the fact that I was studying computer science.

Anyway, the preferred operating system seemed to be Windows, it was even mentioned in the course guides saying that the preferred operating system was Windows and that staff may not be able to provide much support if something goes wrong.

--

--

Dom Kwolczak

I'm Dom, a tech and productivity enthusiast living in the UK. I share stories about my experience with tech, reviews, tips and more. www.beacons.ai/techwithdom