6 Things You Need To Know About Black Friday — From an Ex-Tech Store Employee

It’s that time of the year again!

Dom Kwolczak
8 min readNov 17, 2023
Photo by CardMapr.nl on Unsplash

It’s that time of the year again when everyone is slowly beginning to do their Christmas shopping and an event known as Black Friday occurs.

For those of you who are unaware, Black Friday is a day in the year when retailers around the world offer major discounts and promotions on their products or do they?

A few years ago, I worked as a part-time sales assistant in my local tech store. I remember it being a great part-time student job that not only helped me boost my confidence but also taught me customer service. I would even argue that this job helped my career in tech!

As great as this sounds, there was a day I dreaded most, that day was Black Friday. I know, that this may sound surprising, but I remember it as an extremely busy day that included me running all around the shop floor trying to offer the best customer service I could, whilst being under pressure to close my sales quickly as there was a queue of customers waiting.

With that in mind, I wanted to share 5 things I feel you need to know as customers…

--

--

Dom Kwolczak

I'm Dom, a tech and productivity enthusiast living in the UK. I share stories about my experience with tech, reviews, tips and more. www.beacons.ai/techwithdom